Curriculum Curriculum

click for larger image and more info
large view
IB Hexagon

So… what is IB?

Students enrolled in the IB Diploma Program meet state requirements for graduation by completing the IB curriculum.

The IB Diploma Program encourages students to have a range of experience in languages, social studies, the experimental sciences and mathematics; therefore students study six courses at higher or standard level. Students must choose one subject from each of the groups 1 to 5.

The sixth subject may be an arts subject chosen from group 6, or the student may choose another subject from groups 1 to 5.

During their junior and senior years, students will take six IB exams; three at the Higher Level (HL) and three at a Standard Level (SL). One exam will be taken from each of the six subject areas listed. Exams are graded from 1 point to 7 points. Students must score a total of 24 points to acquire an IB Diploma.

The IB Diploma Program is designed to promote active learning and informed, thoughtful students. Over a series of two years (11th and 12th grades), students are engaged in a series of academically challenging classes that will prepare them for both college and becoming a world citizen.

When selecting classes, the student must choose one course from groups 1-5 (see diagram), as well as one more class either from group 6 or one more from groups 1-5 and remember students will need three HL and three SL classes to meet the IB Diploma requirements.

The courses offered at Bloomfield are:

English HL (Group 1)
Spanish SL or French SL (Group 2)
History of the Americas HL(Group 3)
Psychology (Group 3)
Biology HL(Group 4)
Physics SL (Group 4)
Design Technology SL (Group 4)
Environmental Systems and Society SL (Group 4)
Math studies SL or Math SL (Group 5)
Music SL (Group 6)
Visual Arts SL(Group 6)

*Note: these classes are offered based upon student demand and teacher availability.

In addition to the academic courses, the IB Diploma Program has three "core" requirements that are included to broaden the educational experience and challenge students to apply their knowledge and understanding. The "core" requirements for IB: Creativity Action Service (CAS), the Extended Essay, and Theory of Knowledge (TOK). For more information, see the "core requirements" page.